The No-Kill Community Animal Shelter Task Force was created by Resolution No. 2-19, passed by the Mayor and City Council on February 25, 2019. The Task Force is made up of eleven (11) citizen members; at least six (6) of whom shall live within the City, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. 



The Task Force is charged with studying, investigating and addressing the following issues: Type of shelter needed; Type of animals to be housed in the shelter; Size and possible location; funding; Operated by volunteers and/or paid staff; Adoption outreach efforts; and Operational guidelines. 



The Task Force meets monthly, in the Laurel Municipal Center at 8103 Sandy Spring Road, Laurel, Maryland 20707.

The Public is welcomed and encouraged to attend. For information regarding agendas or related information call the Laurel Municipal Center at 301-725-5300, extension 2125.